

Notice of Annual General Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of Members of the Chartered Institute of Taxation will be held on Thursday 30 May 2024 at 16.45

Location:

To register for this virtual AGM please visit: https://www.tax.org.uk/agm2024

- 1. To receive and adopt the Report of the Council for 2023.
- 2. To receive and adopt the audited Financial Statements of the Institute for the year ended 31 December 2023.
- 3. To re-elect as Members of the Council the following, who were co-opted and retire under Members' Regulation 20:
 - a) Alistair Cliff
 - b) Xiaoshan Sun
- 4. To re-elect as Members of the Council the following, who retire by rotation under Members' Regulation 21:
 - c) Paul Aplin
 - d) Joanna Bello
 - e) Sarah Hewson
 - f) Mobeen Ismail
 - g) Ashley Makoni
 - h) Christopher Shrubsole
- 5. To appoint UHY Hacker Young as auditor to the Institute from the termination of the meeting until the termination of the next succeeding Annual General Meeting.

By order of the Council

Rosalind Baxter Secretary Chartered Institute of Taxation 30 Monck Street London SW1P 2AP

Registered Charity Number: 1037771

24 April 2024

CHARTERED INSTITUTE OF TAXATION

Set out below are brief details of the Members who are standing for election to the Council at the Annual General Meeting to be held on 30 May 2024. There are spaces on Council for all of the following members.

Paul Aplin

OBE, BSc, FCA, CTA (Fellow), FRSA. Writer and speaker on tax. Council Member since 2017. Member of Audit & Risk Committee and Chair of the Diploma in Tax Technology Committee. Past President of ICAEW. Former Chair of the ICAEW Tax Faculty and Tax Faculty Technical Committee, member of HMRC Administrative Burdens Advisory Board and GAAR Panel.

Joanna Bello

LLB, CTA (Fellow), ATT (Fellow). A partner at PwC since 2010, EMEA Indirect taxes leader 2012-16 and then Global Indirect taxes leader 2016-21. She specialises in working with large consumer markets and industrial product multinationals and has also undertaken a number of secondments to clients including those in start-up situations, NYSE listed and FTSE top 10. Jo has worked as people partner for top tier tax and is currently involved in partner admissions, mentoring and coaching for partners and staff. Council and Exam Committee member since 2021, Exam Committee Chair since 2022. She is a former CTA examiner and prize winner.

Alistair Cliff

BSc, BEng, FCA, CTA (Fellow). Alistair is a director at Deloitte LLP, where he is the Quality and Risk Management leader for Deloitte's Swiss Tax and Legal practice, and is a member of the Deloitte Global Tax & Legal Q&R team. He qualified as a chartered accountant and a CTA with Arthur Andersen in Nottingham, specialising in corporate taxation, providing tax compliance support and advising a wide range of companies, from family owned companies through to large groups listed on UK and overseas stock markets. Council member since 2024. Member, and past Chair, of the CIOT and ATT Joint Professional Standards Committee and Chair of Joint Regulation Working Party.

Sarah Hewson

LLB, CTA (Fellow), ATT. Having previously practised as a tax lawyer at an international law firm, Sarah moved away from law to specialise in employment taxes and is currently the UK Employment Tax Technical Lead at Vialto Partners. As well as feeding into technical tax consultations and policies, Sarah utilises her broad range of skills to advise clients on key employment tax related issues. Council member since 2021. Sarah has an active role in the CIOT/ATT, sitting on various committees, including the Employment Tax Technical Committee, as well as being Chair of Membership & Branches Committee.

Mobeen Ismail

BSc, CA, CTA (Fellow). Managing Director of Reed Dawson Ltd. Mobeen started in tax with KPMG where he completed his Chartered Accountant and Tax Adviser qualifications. Council member since 2021. Member of Finance & Operations Committee.

Ashley Makoni

Exec MBA, BSc, CTA (Fellow), FCCA. Group Head of Tax at Aptia Ltd, she oversees international tax compliance and strategic tax planning for the organisation. Previously Global Tax Director at Kroll and the Head of Group Tax and Partnership Accounting at CMS. Council member since 2021, member of Professional Standards Committee. She is part of the inaugural Nebula cohort, dedicated to fostering diversity in UK boards. Ashley has volunteered with various charities, including the Salvation Army and Visio Corporate Ltd. She is also actively involved in mentoring initiatives, including her current role with Reach Out.

Christopher Shrubsole

Exec MBA, BSc, CTA (Fellow). ESG Tax Practice Lead for KPMG UK. Chris has been part of KPMG's Tax and Legal community for nearly 30 years. Having spent the vast majority of that time in the Tax and Legal leaning and development function designing and delivering a variety of tax technical, ESG, business ethics and business analysis training programmes. In 2022 he changed roles and helped establish KPMG's UK Tax ESG practice and is a key member of KPMG's global ESG Community. He a passionate promoter of inclusion and opportunities for all and has been actively involved with the development of many of KPMG's apprenticeship pathways. Council member since 2021. Vice-Chair of the Education Committee.

Xiaoshan Sun

MSc, CA, CTA (Fellow). Tax Technology Lead at Deliveroo. Xiaoshan is responsible for developing the technology strategy and roadmap, designing, and implementing technology solutions to meet a broad array of tax requirements, including tax compliance, real-time transaction reporting, operational transfer pricing and tax dispute resolution. Originally training as an economist she qualified as a Chartered Accountant and a CTA with KPMG. She has held previous roles with Morgan Stanley, BDO, Omnicom Group and Unilever. Council member since 2024, she was heavily involved in developing the CIOT's Diploma in Tax Technology (DITT) and is a member of the DITT Committee.